8 CW Pilots In-Development, Including ‘The Originals’

View Comments
The Vampire Diaries — “Down the Rabbit Hole” — Pictured: Joseph Morgan as Klaus — Photo: Annette Brown/The CW — ©2013 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

The Vampire Diaries — “Down the Rabbit Hole” — Pictured: Joseph Morgan as Klaus — Photo: Annette Brown/The CW — ©2013 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

The CW has officially ordered eight pilots for the 2013-2014 TV season. Of the eight pilots, two are adaptions of YA booksicon1 8 CW Pilots In Development, Including ‘The Originals’! One is a spin-off of “The Vampire Diaries” and also serves as a backdoor pilot. And in an effort to emerge with more high concept shows, most in-development are science fiction dramas. Of course, it’s still too early to determine which pilots will receive the green light and be placed in the coveted fall and spring lineup.

Check out all eight pilots in-development:

Blink

Executive Producer: Vera Harbert
A warm, quirky, humorous dramaicon1 8 CW Pilots In Development, Including ‘The Originals’ about a family whose lives are forever changed, for better and worse, when the patriarch has a car accident resulting in a coma-like syndrome where he cannot speak or move, but can see and hear all. His narration and fantasy sequences emanating from his mind provide context and a wry counterpoint to the stories and conflicts of the family and his own situation.

Company Town

Executive Producer: Sera Gamble (“Supernatural”)
scandalicon1 8 CW Pilots In Development, Including ‘The Originals’ at a Naval base in Virginia touches the lives of both civilians and military personnel in the area, launching us into a multigenerational, multi-class, family and relationship series centered around two early twentysomething women who grew up together, were once best friends, but now are on opposite sides of the Townie/Military divide.

The Hundred

Executive Producer: Jason Rothenberg
Set 97 years after a nuclear war has destroyed civilization. A spaceship housing the lone human survivors sends 100 juvenile delinquents back to Earth to investigate the possibility of re-colonizing the planet. (“The Hundred” by Kass Morgan is a YA novel expected to release in 2014. For that reason, the novel hasn’t gained a strong fandom yet from the YA community, but it’s well on its way. You can learn more about the books here.)

Oxygen

Executive Producer: Meredith Averill
An epic romance between a human girl and an alien boy when he and eight others of his kind are integrated into a suburban high schoolicon1 8 CW Pilots In Development, Including ‘The Originals’10 years after they landed on Earth and were consigned to an internment camp.

Reign

Executive Producers: Laurie McCarthy (“Windfall”) and Stephanie Sengupta (“Ghost Whisperer”)
Charts Mary Queen of Scots’ rise to power when she arrives in France as a 15-year-old, betrothed to Prince Francis, and with her three best friends as ladies-in-waiting. It details the secret history of survival at French Court amidst fierce foes, dark forces, and a world of sexual intrigue.

The Selection

Executive Producers: Elizabeth Craft and Sarah Fain
Set 300icon1 8 CW Pilots In Development, Including ‘The Originals’ years in the future, an epic romance centering on a working class young woman chosen by lottery to participate in a competition with 25 other women for the Royal Prince’s hand to become the nation’s next queen. Balancing her loyalty to family, true love, and kingdom, she must attempt to remain true to herself as she navigates the cutthroat competition and palace intrigue, all while a budding rebellion threatens to topple the crown. (“The Selection” was in the works last year but fell through. The YA book by Kiera Cass has all the makings for a great CW show. Let’s see if the second time’s the charm.)

The Tomorrow People

Executive Producer: Phil Kemmer (“Chuck”)
In the vein of X-Men and Heroes, it’s the story of several young people from around the world who represent the next stage in human evolution, possessing special powers, including the ability to teleport and communicate with each other telepathically. Together they work to defeat the forces of evil. Based upon the original UK series created by Roger Price.

The Originals

Executive Producer: Julie Plec (“The Vampire Diaries”)
A spinoff of The CW’s “The Vampire Diaries” revolving around the Original family in New Orleans. In the episode, Klaus returns to the supernatural melting pot that is the French Quarter of New Orleans, a town he helped build centuries ago, and is reunited with his diabolical former protégé Marcel. (The backdoor pilot will air on April 25th, and in addition to Joseph Morgan, Daniel Gillies has signed on as Elijah, Klaus’ brother.)

Thoughts: As an X-Men junkie and an obsessive nut over “The Vampire Diaries” (especially the Original vamps), “The Tomorrow People” and “The Originals” automatically make me giddy. I’m crossing my fingers for “The Selection” because the premise would suit a television show very well — and The CW must believe strongly in it for a second shot. And “The Hundred” has plenty of buzz already.

Which pilots attract your attention?

– Becca Ritchie

Becca Ritchie is a Georgia native studying English and Mass Media Arts at UGA. Most of her time is spent reading—pretty much anything—but most often you can catch her with a Young Adult book in hand. She’s a fan of Bluebell, Alabama and vampires who live in Mystic Falls. She also runs a YA book blog called Nawanda Files (http://nawandafiles.blogspot.com)with a girl who looks far too much like her.  Follow her onTwittericon1 8 CW Pilots In Development, Including ‘The Originals’ @Becca_Ritchie.  You can email her atbeccaritchie3@gmail.com
View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers